New Year (2019) by Rory WT

Written and directed by Diana Gradinaru and Rory Waudby-Tolley

‘New Year’ is an 9-minute animated short set over two time periods.

In 1999 a boy becomes obsessed with the Y2K bug; In the distant future a girl is learning to be a priest in a religion based upon the ‘artefacts’ left behind by the boy.

Ravaged by millennia of climate breakdown, Britain is underwater. But Simon’s ramblings and football stickers inspire a faith where the heat of the earth is respected and 90s Man United midfielder Nicky Butt is worshiped as a God.

The Year 2000 was simultaneously the beginning of the future, and the end of world.

Produced by Becky Perryman
Executive produced by Phil Davies

Starring Jason Forbes, Thea Gajic, Lorna Gayle and Javone Prince

Animation and design by Diana Gradinaru, Rory WT, Ala Nunu Leszynska and Chiara Sgatti

Sound and music by Skillbard

Hymn by Paul Devlin

Casting by Leanne Flinn

Made with the support of BFI NETWORK

Uploaded 2020-10-11T17:58:25.000Z

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s